How To

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

If you’ve decided to disable Instagram account, whether because you’ve outgrown the need for a specific finsta or because its parent company Meta is embroiled in another controversy, the process isn’t as quick or as simple as it should be. It’s even impossible to do from within the Instagram app. Take a moment to make the obligatory “I’m deleting Instagram” post if you want, and then follow these steps to delete your Instagram account — they can be done on either a computer or a phone, as long as you’re using a browser. In this guide of how to delete Instagram account, both temporary and permanent method will be discussed.

How to delete Instagram account temporarily?

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

If you want to hide your account from the public eye but don’t want to delete all of your photos and messages, you can suspend it instead. Once again, Meta forces you to use the web version of Instagram rather than the app, but at least you won’t have to get a link from a help article.

  • After logging into Instagram.com, go to your profile and click the Edit Profile button (if using a mobile browser, you’ll need to tap the settings cog to get the option).
  • Go to “Edit Profile” > “Temporarily disable my account” (it will be an option near the bottom). As with deleting your account, you must choose a reason for suspending your account and enter your password.

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

  • Simply log back in using the app or the website to re-enable your account. You’ll only be able to suspend your account once per week, so if you accidentally log back in, your posts will be back online and visible to followers, at least for a short time.

How to delete Instagram account permanently?

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

To delete you Instagram account permanently, navigate to Instagram’s special account removal request page, which can be accessed by clicking on the link.

  • If you aren’t already logged into Instagram for the web (which most people aren’t), you’ll need to enter your credentials. In fact, you’ll almost certainly have to enter your password twice during the deletion process, so now’s a good time to double-check that you know what it is.
  • You should be redirected to a page with the old Instagram logo and a dropdown asking why you want to delete your instagram account. Depending on which option you select, you may be shown a variety of links to Instagram’s help center promising to resolve your issues or a message reminding you to double-check which account you’re deleting.

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

  • Whichever option you select, a box will appear below the links asking you to reenter your password. After that, tap or click the “Delete (your account name)” button and confirm that you’re sure.
  • As Instagram states several times on the account deletion page, your data will not be erased immediately — Meta will keep it for 30 days. Your profile and posts, however, will be hidden on the site.
  • If you want to disable Instagram account completely, don’t forget to uninstall the app from your phone as well. This will save you some space while also putting some distance between you and re-enrolling in the service.

Here are Android 12 Features, Samsung Already had

How to delete Instagram account on iPhone?

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

If you want to disable your Instagram account from an iPhone for whatever reason, the process is relatively simple.

  • Open Safari on your iPhone.
  • Go to the Delete Your Account page.
  • Log into your account.
  • Using the drop-down menu, select the reason that you are choosing to delete your account.
  • Enter your password again.
  • Click ‘Permanently delete my account,’ then confirm by clicking again.

If you go through this process, you will not be able to reactivate this specific account, so if you want to use Instagram again, you will need to create a new account.

How to restore Instagram account?

How to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily or Permanently?

Remember that if it’s been more than 30 days since you asked Instagram to delete your account, you won’t be able to recover it. You’ll have to recreate your account (your username will be freed up after you delete your instagram account, but it’s possible someone could’ve taken it).

Top 5 Best High-Res Music Streaming Services Now

However, if you are within that 30-day period, you can restore instagram account, along with all of your posts and DMs. Simply return to Instagram and log in with your credentials. You’ll see a message stating that you requested that your account be deleted, as well as the date on which your data will be deleted. Simply click the “Keep Account” button to prevent this from happening.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button